Grab.com Boards >  Site feedback > Tourneys hijacked by nasty ads!
Page 1 of 6     1 2 3 4 5 6   next >
Tourneys hijacked by nasty ads!
author message
wilbur6969 wilbur6969
VIP Member
Joined: May 05 2008
Posts: 700
VIP Member
Posted: Feb/13/2009 02:17 PM report inappropriate content

This is what popped up on me a couple of days ago when clicking on a tourney to play.

INSERT INTO 202_clicks_spy SET click_id='815960', user_id = '1', aff_campaign_id = '70', ppc_account_id = '0', click_cpc = '0.00100', click_payout = '1.75', click_filtered = '1', click_alp = '0', click_time = '1234417565'

The table '202_clicks_spy' is full



Rate this post: Good / Bad
wilbur6969 wilbur6969
VIP Member
Joined: May 05 2008
Posts: 700
VIP Member
Posted: Feb/14/2009 12:35 AM report inappropriate content

*STAFF EDIT*


This just now popped up went I clicked to "Start Playing Now" button in sweetsongbird's valentiner tourney. Has Grab been hacked or is Grab doing this on purpose?

Rate this post: Good / Bad
willow28 willow28
VIP Member
Joined: Nov 17 2004
Posts: 3551
VIP Member Read willow28's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 01:15 AM report inappropriate content

Not an expert here by any means,  but that has not happened to me and I have participated in several tourneys today.

That screams malware and or spyware to me, try running  ccleaner for a start to clean out your system.

Again I will say I am far from the person you need to speak to to get your situation resolved.  I don't know what browser you run,  nor what other sites you may have visited.  Perhaps it was an e mail that you clicked on and it corrupted your system.

Others may have better advice,  but if that was me?  I'd be calling my computer guy and having him check my system out asap.

Good luck, and sorry I couldn't help you further.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
Chief1 Chief1
Joined: Dec 16 2004
Posts: 2283
Read Chief1's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 01:17 AM report inappropriate content

This sounds like you have spy-ware on your pc.

To remove it I would run Ccleaner & Malwarebytes.

Is you Internet Security up to date as it's getting past you firewall if you have one.

You have not stated the browser your using.
If your using IE or Firefox you be wise to visit my help web site as you need a plug-in to stop the malware.

the links to all the above free software can be found by: Clicking Here

Look in 'Programs Req'd' & 'Block Ads'

Edit:
Thanks willow just a litte ahead of me.(lol)

Derick.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
wilbur6969 wilbur6969
VIP Member
Joined: May 05 2008
Posts: 700
VIP Member
Posted: Feb/14/2009 01:54 AM report inappropriate content

Thanks for advice. I use a G5 iMac and Safari. Seriously doubt it is spyware or malware. Have a router firewall as well as built in firewall on my mac.

My first post on this subject was while using a Dell @ work, the second happened here @ home on iMac.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
argal4 argal4
Joined: Feb 20 2006
Posts: 461
Read argal4's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 05:33 AM report inappropriate content

Last night while trying to get into a Serf's tourney..I had a shoe ad pop up instead of the tourney after pushing play it happened 3 times, I was not the only one it happened to everyone entering the tourney.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
wilbur6969 wilbur6969
VIP Member
Joined: May 05 2008
Posts: 700
VIP Member
Posted: Feb/14/2009 05:48 AM report inappropriate content

http://tracking.gajmp.com/redir.aspx?CI … 65345&SID=

This is what pops up after tourney page loads, then it's on to the shoe ad.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
bunny103 bunny103
Joined: Aug 06 2005
Posts: 134
Read bunny103's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 08:01 AM report inappropriate content

I am getting the same ad

Rate this post: Good / Bad
Chief1 Chief1
Joined: Dec 16 2004
Posts: 2283
Read Chief1's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 09:47 AM report inappropriate content

wilbur6969 wrote:

http://tracking.gajmp.com/redir.aspx?CI … 65345&SID=

This is what pops up after tourney page loads, then it's on to the shoe ad.
All I get from your link is this:

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b218/Derick_Chief/help/Link_unavialable.png

This could be down to the fact my browsers block all Ads.

Sorry I can't help with your mac Problem.
Your not transferring data between your dell pc to your Mac?

also you can see that wot (the red circle) is indicating this is a dangerous site
I don't recommend members click on the link.

Derick.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
argal4 argal4
Joined: Feb 20 2006
Posts: 461
Read argal4's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 11:36 AM report inappropriate content

Why are these popping up? Is it Grab??

Rate this post: Good / Bad
something2prove something2prove
Joined: Feb 17 2007
Posts: 3968
Read something2prove's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 11:38 AM report inappropriate content

what does it mean, why is it happening...




mmm...

42?

Rate this post: Good / Bad
Chief1 Chief1
Joined: Dec 16 2004
Posts: 2283
Read Chief1's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 12:19 PM report inappropriate content

argal4 wrote:

Why are these popping up? Is it Grab??
This is a Trojan and I'm sure this will not be from Grab.com

Derick.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
mycatnamedwebby mycatnamedwebby
Joined: May 16 2005
Posts: 1213
Read mycatnamedwebby's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 01:41 PM report inappropriate content

Chief1 wrote:

argal4 wrote:

Why are these popping up? Is it Grab??
This is a Trojan and I'm sure this will not be from Grab.com

Derick.
so how do all of us people that get ads like that get rid of the trojans?

Rate this post: Good / Bad
Chief1 Chief1
Joined: Dec 16 2004
Posts: 2283
Read Chief1's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 02:03 PM report inappropriate content

mycatnamedwebby wrote:

Chief1 wrote:

argal4 wrote:

Why are these popping up? Is it Grab??
This is a Trojan and I'm sure this will not be from Grab.com

Derick.
so how do all of us people that get ads like that get rid of the trojans?
Like I said above run Ccleaner & Malwarebytes.

Derick.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
mist59 mist59
Joined: Jan 05 2005
Posts: 240
Posted: Feb/14/2009 02:26 PM report inappropriate content

I find it amazing that it's always 'our' fault.  My question is:  why can I go to other game sites and play with NO problem, yet when I try on grab, I have problems?  Nuff said? 
As I said in my original post ...... you just lost a game player ....... stay well and safe

Rate this post: Good / Bad
mycatnamedwebby mycatnamedwebby
Joined: May 16 2005
Posts: 1213
Read mycatnamedwebby's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 02:32 PM report inappropriate content

I also find it funny that this happened to a few people on GRAB at the SAME TIME, it doesnt seem right....

Rate this post: Good / Bad
argal4 argal4
Joined: Feb 20 2006
Posts: 461
Read argal4's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 04:43 PM report inappropriate content

I find it strange too, it is always OUR computers and never grab!!! This is the only site I have problems with.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
hap_e hap_e
Joined: Mar 23 2006
Posts: 799
Read hap_e's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 04:52 PM report inappropriate content

hello..
argal thanks for sending this to me, because GUESS what?? I got the same ad, and THEN got another one for a dating site.
Its not my computer folks, you will never convince me that it is...
i have recently had a new antivirus placed into my machine from my phone company, so far it has caught every trojan that has been thrown at me, and there have been several.
Its in grab, because I am not having that problem anywhere else.
We should know by now, it never does any good to blame grab, they won't be at fault for anything that goes wrong on this site......
oh and on an edited note... here is the link when i went from here to the tourney page!!!!!
http://my.amazingfreerewards.com/Splash … 5342&se=02

Rate this post: Good / Bad
danie21 danie21
Joined: Jun 28 2008
Posts: 226
Read danie21's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 05:14 PM report inappropriate content

I was also getting the shoe ad  last nite, only when i would try to play in a tourney.  After about five times...it finally let me play.:S

Rate this post: Good / Bad
nihow nihow
Joined: Feb 25 2006
Posts: 463
Read nihow's blog
Posted: Feb/14/2009 06:19 PM report inappropriate content

I got the shoe ad and an ad for the blackpeople connection....this was only triggered in grab.com and no where else...I feel it originated on grab.

I run spyware programs daily. I wish grab would get their act together..this is probably another way for grab to get paid from advertisers...there are "forced" ads, these seem to be those.

Rate this post: Good / Bad
Page 1 of 6     1 2 3 4 5 6   next >